Wednesday 24th May 2017 – Dress Run

Dress Run footage 

My own reflections 

After the dress rehearsal I made several of my own notes on certain moments during the run where I felt things didn’t work as well as we would have wanted or any problems we faced that had sprung to my attention immediately. However I also decided that it would be beneficial to watch the dress run back from an audiences perspective in the hope of noticing moments that I wasn’t aware of or missed whist on stage. So I noted down some of my thoughts both from the perspective as a performer and from the angle of some watching the show from the audience perspective.

Here are the notes I compiled:

Act 1

  • Beginning was slightly hesitant and underwelming – I think we need to put more energy in it and don’t leave it as long inbetween our lines
  • opening speech from st jimmy is really good at explaining
  • jacks characterisation was really strong
  •  ‘probably wondering who I am’ – a long pause as I think he rushed the dialogue and had more time than he thought
  • waitress background
  • I want to be seduced – really good, the song really suits her voice style, I think she could go slightly further with the flirting
  • background movement wasn’t too distracting and helped create the atmosphere
  • Tom’s speech as the guitarist at the beginning sounds very similar to his posh character but I think he needs to make a more distinctive difference between them vocally.
  •  needed to come in sooner
  •  ‘she didn’t mean anything’ – harry messed the lines a bit
  • harry shouting the slut line but he has been told not to direct at me before
  • waitresses we were joking around and mimicking the dances and enjoying the routine as if we knew it – we weren’t lit properly and were behind the bar so it wasn’t too distracting
  • dancing was really strong and stylised however there was a few moments where it wasn’t completely together
  • lighting created shadows when girls made Charlie’s angels pose at the back which looked really cool
  • Chloe starts sitting in audience, her spoken section was really sweet and she had obviously worked on her accent
  • she could work on playing more of it to the actual audience rather than just those on stage
  • she owned the stage and even if she was pitchy at times she carried it of as she radiates confidence
  • posh table knocked off the cups however Sian managed to go over in character and pick them
  • her choreography worked well with the song
  • end note wasn’t in tune and got sharper as she raised her hands
  • big gap before posh table whistles
  • waitress crowded around the corner of the bar and it looks like we are blocking each other
  • I need to be louder as my voice is soft
  • picking up cues needs to be bigger
  • Han and Sian shopping and fucking interlude Hannah rushed her speech a bit
  • still very crowded around the bar and can be a lot to take in from an audience perspective
  • I think we got across the idea of being shown snippets of conversation etc
  • dances speech was quite robotics but
  • could do with speaking even louder over the music before dance starts
  • Jess – vocals were perfect and she took on the note to glottal the ‘angels’ and improve her clarity
  • Faye and Zoe got across the emotion in their dances
  • everyone on stage remembered to just watch jess as she is the performance and not look at dance as it’s not actually happening
  • the bluey lightning helps show the audience that it isn’t reality and acts as if we are watching a memory of their relationship
  • Faye needs to speak louder in the bit between her and Sophia before the nothing s going to harm your song
  • there was an awkward pause before Sophia song
  • Sophia is singing in her ‘cockney’ voice and hasn’t taken the song and applied it to her character’s voice in the show
  • slightly pitchy in places but I don’t think it helped that she was singing sitting down
  •  st jimmy ‘in another part of the universe’ needs to be bigger and bolder as it gets a bit lost and needs lifting after
  • there needs to be more of a reaction when the posh boys get up on the stage maybe vocally a bit of background chat when they get up as it feels quite silent
  • waitresses reactions when Jimmy gets on stage was natural and not too much
  • spacing for the ‘patience of a saint’ was really good and not crowded as we were diagonally placed with Sian behind the bar, myself on the high stool and emma standing.
  • is he homeless’ good improv to fill the space as they walked on – however it did draw attention to the fact james had no shoes on more
  • Lou couldn’t pronounce bielshbub and so in character I helped her by calling it out. I don’t know if this was the right thing to do but it didn’t seem too out of place
  • both james and Lou characterised the ‘holiday rep’ well and did such a good job to learn it as quickly as they could
  • harry was behind me at the bar and so when they said the ‘adultarised’
  • like a right bunch of nitwits’ Lou got a bit
  • the fake laugh worked really well and got across that stereotypical ‘butter wouldn’t melt’ holiday rep character
  • I think they need a bigger and more definite finish to their piece as watching it back it seemed a bit uncertain as to whether they had more or not. They could maybe bow? Or do another laugh? Or look at each other?
  • St Joan introduction when st Jim says ‘isn’t she girls’ we need to be more vocal in our responses as it feels really vacant and empty at the moment and like we are unsure of whether to respond or not
  • I think I show my character excitement to watch at Joan as it is the first time I sit at a table to watch an act.
  • I made the character decision to act as if I was mouthing along the words with her as I know it so well and as if I’m in awe but I was worried it might be distracting or look like I wasn’t doing this as the character but as myself?
  • watching I back I couldn’t really see myself doing it at all which is good in a way as it shows it wasn’t distracting from her monologue.
  • st Joan monologue maybe include the audience more? A bit difficult in a dress run when there are no actual audience there
  • eggy silence as harry walks across stage and sits down before Posh national trust conversation – it dipped the energy quite a lot
  • posh boys don’t throw away lines – keep energy up
  • I very much feel the stage is set up as ‘us and them’ as the posh boys are so isolated on the right side of the stage and nothing is happening in
  • ‘my aunt won’t visit anymore’ harry needs to be quicker coming in. I understand he is thinking about what he is going to say as the character however it felt like it was left too long and that it was silent because someone had missed a line rather than it being a dramatic choice
  • Lou waking across needs to be quicker as there is another massive silence after ‘and the Arabs’ and when she finally makes it over to the posh table. Unnecessary silence means energy levels and the one drops and we have to work even harder to ramp it back up
  • emma could also help out by picking up her cue ‘Jimmy why do you let them in here’ quicker and not wait for Lou to walk across first. As it is unnecessary and just creates massive gaps in the action and slows the pace. If emma says her line straight after the Arab line and if Lou walks across earlier we should be able to increase the pace by over lapping. It will also help create the sense of the club being busy and things always happening rather than being empty.
  • jack is standing right infront of the bar and is blocking lulu and occasionally Maddie as he is so tall and because we are not spaced out enough. We need to block some of these little scenes infront of the stagey bit of slightly further to centre stage.
  • the whole idea of the other guys dragging me and encouraging my character to go up
  • bring on the men feels very hesitant and like we are waiting for each other to sing
  • we held on the succeed too long and got out of time
  • it is really dragging as we are waiting for each other and it is very difficult to lead it
  • it feels like we don’t know it well enough and by looks at each other and following each other for entries in an over exaggerated way just makes us look bad
  • by the time we got to the second chorus it sounded slightly better
  • ‘break your heart’ incredibly flat
  • the waitress action at the back during the dance break helped create scene and it looked really good when we eventually joined in with the arm movement at the end of the dance break
  • the ‘so let’s bringggggggg on the men’ – waiting and anticipating it worked better than the opening section as we did it with conviction and had fun with it
  • the last note needs to be stronger. I was hesitant to belt this as I didn’t want to sound too over powering however it sounds airy and weird in my voice without doing so so I think I need to do this. My only fear is that if I sing louder it will encourage others who’s struggle to pitch to sing louder and then it will end up sounding awful

Act 2

  • Jimmy speech was strong – it was good that not
  • I need to be quicker on the ‘she’s over there again line’ and emma needs to pick up on the
  • Sian needs to do something a bit more flirty before my line ‘subtlety isn’t her strong point’ as at that moment Sian was literally just standing there
  • I need to be so much louder as my dialogue is just getting lost
  • Lou had already made her way to the bar by the time I had my line ‘look who’s coming over’ and it just didn’t make sense. I’m not sure who can rectify this. Maybe Lou needs to wait slightly later. Or I need to pick on the cue better.
  • Jane maybe show a bit more emotion? You’d be feeling shocked and crap if you just found out the person you are seeing is married still and has been lying to you
  • Sophie needs to pick up her cue quicker after the Jane and Maddie scene as there was an awkward gap. Her line is ‘I’m waiting’ and he character would probably be a bit more forceful and impatient?
  • Sophia could work on making her shouting over to Jill a bit more natural as it sounds very robotic at the moment
  • melodrama – have more fun with it. It’s supposed to be over exaggerated and a bit of fun that is made up on the spot.
  • Remember the character’s are drunk and that they are taking the piss! They didn’t know they were going to get up and act out a improv so don’t act like it was all planned
  • Leah’s speech is so hard to understand as she slurs her words and speaks so fast
  • MELODRAMA – MORE ENERGY!!!
  • MORE EXCITEMENT – giggling, pushing each other around and having fun
  • the laughter is really forced and fake – ARE YOU DOING THIS AS YOUR CHARACTERS OR ARE YOU PRETENDING TO BE US?
  • identify the moments that you are your character’s and moments where your character pretending to be Rose, Ed, Jane
  • james was offing a lot of energy and the others need to
  • Lou and I need to not be so scornful to each other
  • Vicky’s dance – music and lighting was really atmospheric and she had good presence on the stage
  • JILL – laugh louder at the bar when you hear conversation about the men as at the moment lulu’s line ‘can I help you’ comes from nowhere!
  • Leah needs to SLOW DOWN AND SPEAK LOUDER AND CLEARER AS IT ALL GETS LOST!
  • the bustle and improv around telling Leah to take the USB over to the DJ was good but could maybe be bigger to fill the gap
  • someone should call out ‘skip to the good bit’ when fast forward or something?
  • man of moment film worked really well being projected on to big screen in the club
  • Film acting tip – decide whether your re talking to the camera or each other. While the tales to the front are funny and work really well you need to think about who you are talking to? Could it be a camera man? The people watching on tv?
  • Josh’s voice for the character was really fitting and worked well
  • the fake josh did to the front after ‘sexually’ was really funny and worked really well. That was an example that did work
  • the change over between the video and the talk about it was swift and kept the energy up well
  • the posh boys dogfight scene could be fast paced as it seems to drag quite a bit
  • ‘you wouldn’t understand’ – I dropped this as my voice was too quite
  • it felt natural that I was wiping the table before he calls me over
  • the music didn’t come in quick enough for dogfight and it messed up the beginning
  • tom forgot words several time
  • got quite stuck to the bar
  • Iliked the naturalism of walking round the space and trying to continue working but I got feedback that it got too crowded around the bar and that we were blocked by the tables a bit too much
  • I personally think it was okay as the follow spot managed to light us still and it made it look like he was harassing rose and following her around until she says yes
  • tom and I are so used to working together as a couple that we were too comfortable and touchy with each other. I tried to push him off a few times but I think it needs to be less familiar still
  •  I got out of time in my section and missed the line ‘I’ve still got to mop’ and then I was early for ‘I really don’t think I can come’
  • tom and I found it really difficult to hear the backing track which is why we couldn’t hear where we were in the song
  • Tom sang some random words in the section as I think he got confused with the verses
  • ‘coming with you okay’ – I thought I was playing this line desperately however I’m not sure this came across so I’ll work harder on heightening this
  • Sloan – really good character and energy
  • establishes the stand up comic idea well with the mic and the way he owns the stage
  • josh interacts well with the people on stage being audience and created the idea of performing to them
  • he speaks naturally and gets across the strangeness of the character
  • he uses his eyes really well to get across the maniac side of mr Sloan
  •  he switches between the overly friendly side and the weirdo side well
  • ‘ I hits him’ – don’t sound so apologetic about it continue with the psychotic side of the character
  • dances need to come on quicker after Sloan and jimmys intro speech for their take me to church dance as there was a slightly awkward gap
  • Zoe was slightly behind in one bit at the beginning of the dance however I’m not sure if that was supposed to be in cannon or not
  • the dance was really dynamic and they managed to use the stage and spacing well
  • show more emotion on their faces
  • Faye has great presence and extension when dancing
  • Chloe when doing backwards fish roll needs to straighten her legs
  • tom com in quicker after the dancers bow with ‘James my old chap’ to keep it moving
  • tom gets across the drunk, posh rich character well with his drawling voice
  • could jess be lit more dancing as it is an act in the club at this point?
  • we need to remember the moments that it changes from an actual act that the people can see to the fantasy in james’ head and when we freeze and where we focus our attention.
  • first dance section we are watching Jess as a performer d
  • the part where it is just Scott singing on his own we need to keep up as much movement and bustle as we can to imply that everything is still happening in real life and that he is singing his thoughts
  • when jess dances the same time in the red might then we need to freeze and keep movement to a minimal. However some people forgot this and carried on moving.
  • tom added his own song to film the gap between hellfire and poison apple as jess has a quick change – he forgot some of it however he is going to
  • Sophia and jess need to be much louder as the speech is getting lost under guitar
  • song is really pretty and they are starting to create the caring relationship between each other and the idea of having a conversation where jess is comforting her
  • tom and jess’ voices blend together really well
  • Sophia managed to stay in time and stay in tune for the most of it and I could deffo hear an improvement. There was one pitching moment but it wasn’t too noticeable
  •  they could interact with each other a little more
  •  I really like the speech before Jane Eyre and Shakespeare section for the love triangle as it really sets up the idea of the struggle being something that will always happen throughout history and that it is irrelevant whether it is them or another couple as it’s always the same – this makes it makes sense when they deliver Jane Eyre
  • the way Jimmy sets it up by mentioning the ‘you’ve seen it in books’ – it’s not ignoring the fact that the language changes to more literate novel writing.
  •  I feel Lou’s character at the end is different to what she has been playing throughout?
  • I originally wondered whether I needed to walk across the stage quicker after the Jayne Eyre bit however watching it back I think it worked well and created good tension having harry alone on stage for that extra few seconds so the audience could actually see him making the decision to come after rose
  • harry stumbled on a few lines but managed to pick himself back up easily
  • it felt better starting with ‘alas sir’ and it gave me a lot more bite too it
  •  I think I put emphasis on the important words to drive the piece and make it make sense well?
  • I felt like I put correct emotion in and got across my character’s strong will and how she was now fed up and was standing up for herself well through the strength of my voice
  • I don’t know whether I need to slow down more or not though?
  • I think I could be stronger on the ‘I’m feeling like taking the gamble’ line
  • I really liked jacks final speech and the delivery of the line ‘amen’ and ‘how about you?’
  •  The first word of the song got slightly lost. Need to be less apologetic
  • USE YOUR FACES AND ACT THROUGH THE SONG AS YOUR CHARACTER MORE
  •  interact with he people around you subtlety, share looks and acknowledge each other – US WAITRESSES ARE
  • The round worked better than I thought it would but everyone has to be confident and strong on their part of it so not to drown each other out
  • jess’ mic was very loud compared to others and in the round this made the parts unbalanced.

 

Lynn, Erica and Han’s Dress Rehearsal notes

  • Well done for taking note to stay together as waitress’s before singing lines in opening song
  • enjoy jimmy’s song more
  • st jimmy song is a cabaret act so watch it
  • lights on st jimmy when shouting lulu
  •  Sian whisper to tom what she wants to sing as it’s an unplanned
  • tom should remain interested when she says ‘get into bed’
  • tom fearful face out front made it feel like it was influencing the audience
  • Sian don’t grab his shoulder
  • song – Sian did really well
  • *cough* need to remember to do this ASAP!
  • picking up of cues needs to be quicker as it’s dropping the energy and making their be big empty gaps
  • don’t spit out ‘some slut’ makes it sound like she’s done something wrong
  • glasses – they are very light be careful – make sure you give the right glasses for drinks
  • Sian and Han – take her away from bar to talk about dealing
  • Ruby should wear different shoes as she needs to look rougher and
  •  Lou – should wear nicer shoes? Helena said that she doesn’t see why ed would be attracted to her
  • Lou and James – need to be more in sync and need to be positioned centre stage
  • waitresses – don’t be distracting before welcome to hell with mimes chit chat
  • Luring – Sian
  • some lines were dropped in POSH
  • took too long on ‘succeed’ in bring on the men
  • wooop more in gaps of song
  • link scenes need to be ramped up more and be louder
  • don’t acknowledge Lou during the melodrama as it was distracting and we wouldn’t necessarily be cold to each other but to ed instead
  • scene where I ask maddie about Jane needs to be bigger and less apologetic
  • Dogfight song – NEEDS REWORKING
  • the stage left side of the stage is very crowded
  • we couldn’t hear the track which is why we got out of time
  • wedding ring???
  •  stand up to ask jimmy about the party and do it as if deliberately trying to make a point and make ed hear

 

 

Leave a Reply

